top of page
  • Writer's pictureLinda

Minimize the Challenges

Although I love to cook it is sometimes a challenge. If I don't meal plan it is "what can I make quick or what is already in the freezer to defrost and eat?" Now my meal planning or lack there of is complicated by this current stay at home order and my ability to get a timeslot at Walmart.


For example, it seems I always need cilantro except when I actually have it in the fridge. I really do buy it with every intention of using if before it wilts but sometimes that does not happen. Again, meal planning, meaning make a menu and buying the necessary ingredients, is a lifesaver. It also minimizes waste of ingredients which equals money.


My first blog post had an great week of meal planning and sometimes I really am able to make it happen but it can also be as easy as plan a main dish and let the sides fall where they may or not. It is not earthshattering if you don't have a full-blown meal.


This week broccoli was a winner and easy to get. Two meals featuring this yummy and healthy vegetable, even if George W. hated it.



(sheet pan dinner-just add a salad or some applesauce)



(Just add crusty bread)


Two more for you. Okay, I am totally embarrassed to say yes, I make this recipe. It all started when I tried it at someone's house, loved it, and asked for the recipe. Oy vey, can you say processed ingredients? pssstt, it's delicious!


Chicken Delight (yes, this is the whole recipe!)

  • Place 4 chicken breasts in a casserole dish. Mix 1 can of whole cranberry sauce, 8 ounces of French dressing and 1 packet of Lipton dry onion soup. Pour over chicken bake 350 uncovered for 1 hour. Serve over noodles.

  • You can even add a canned vegetable to round out the processedness (yes, I know this is not a word) of this meal.


  • If you don't have beer or use beer for cooking you can sub in 12 ounces of water, 1 tsp. of beef bullion and 1 T of Worcestershire sauce.


And just for good measure an easy dessert.


Ice Cream in a Bag


Ingredients

1 Cup of half and half

2 T sugar

1/2 t vanilla

3 C of ice

1/3 C of kosher salt

Instructions

  1. In a small resealable plastic bag, combine half-and-half, sugar, and vanilla. Push out excess air and seal.

  2. Into a large resealable plastic bag, combine ice and salt. Place small bag inside the bigger bag and shake vigorously, 7 to 10 minutes, until ice cream has hardened.

  3. Remove from bag and enjoy with your favorite ice cream toppings.

  4. Enjoy!


That's all for now!


Virtual XOXO

Linda



33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page