top of page
  • Writer's pictureLinda

Bring It On!

I really like trying new things. That is the way for most activities in my life. What can I say? I get bored easily. I tell my husband he is the only thing that I have stuck with for a long time period, going on 42 years married as a matter of fact. One of us deserves a medal, LOL! I digress 😊.


I love trying new foods and have no aversion to even the scariest sounding or grossest (is this a word?) looking foods. Trying new recipes is one of my hobbies including my determination to recreate foods just by taste.


One of my goals is to make every recipe I have ever saved at least once and then get it out of my recipe box if it doesn’t pass the taste test. Being a collector of recipes the odds of this happening is about 0%. But, a girls gotta have goals.


One thing that can drive you crazy though is when you trying something and it just doesn’t seem right or seem to be work. But after a little frustration...


This was my adventure today: Pie cookies.


They have just been lingering in my electronic recipe box waiting for today. Not even sure why they popped into my head today and although the recipe calls for blueberry I thought I would try cherry. P.S. Cherry is the one filling I sometimes cheat with canned but even then I doctor it up.


It all started out so well. Although the recipe calls for bought pie crust, I made my scratch crust and had my doctored up can of cherries at the ready. Seemed so simple. But in my infinite wisdom I thought why not double the dough and make extra. That is when I things went south.


General instructions are to unwrap the pie crust, spread the filling, make strips from the second pie crust and lattice it. Cut out circles to make mini pie cookies. Easy, right?

Well cherries are super juicy and I made my circle super big and when I tried to overlap the lattice it started breaking. So now I had a big circle of crust with cherry pie filling and basically a bunch of dough on top to try to make pretty. But I wasn’t ready to throw in the towel. I just patched it up.


Ready to go in the oven. These do not look as pretty as the picture of the recipe. I mean seriously look at the ones on the right. Broken lattice is not pretty.



Then as I am placing in the oven my thoughts went again to my juicy filling...in my head I am saying "so now basically all of this filling is going to bubble up and be all over the pan and I will have a bunch of dough discs with nothing on them."


Well much to my surprise here is the finished product. If you place them just right on the platter you can't see all the booboos.



And they were a huge hit. The whole platter of cherry pie cookies eaten for dessert. We had a little help from our neighbors who happen to be our grandkids. (big hugs here). Yeah and the husband did eat 5, yes, I said 5! Taste can typically trump looks.

Wanna try them? Click here for the recipe.


Till next time XOXO,

Linda

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page